Is this possible?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4800 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am very new to Second Life, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question!

I can not afford to buy or rent land right now, but I would like to build a small sky room where a few friends and I can meet at a pre-arranged time and chat. I don't know exactly how to explain what I am asking...Are there places where I could "drop" my room for a few hours and we could all meet there?   It does not have to be a permanent place, and I would put it in the sky to be out of other SL people's way? Am I making sense?

Public sandboxes usually wipe (and delete or return everything) every 2-3 hours, so if you can time it so that you rez your skybox just after it's wiped, you should get a couple of hours use out of it before it wipes again.

There are places called sandboxes in SL where you can go to rez and build etc. Most have an auto-return of 6 hours (but it can vary).

Bear in mind that your stuff will be autoreturned to you after the specified time and it may all be as one 'coalesced' object, meaning if you rez multiple items they'll all be returned to your lost and found folder clumped together and you'll need to rez them all together again.

Also note that, strictly speaking, sandboxes are not exactly intended as 'free meeting places' but more for people to build. There's not necessarily anything preventing you from doing what you want at a sandbox, but it's not exactly within the spirit of sandboxes either as you'd be using sim resources that are provided for others to build. I certainly wouldn't advise doing it if there are a lot of you meeting up and having a party as it could possibly get you banned from the sandbox.