Why am I getting failures on Requesting Region Capabilities recently

BenBold

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3426 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I have been using SL for over 3 years, but just recently, I have been getting failures when logging in:

During login - I see that the Requesting Capabilities part seems to sometimes take a long time, and sometimes, comes up with Attempt 2, Attempt 3 - 

When the login is complete after that, I seem to missing certain things - e.g. my FList comes up with () instead of names and when chats open, they show as "loading..."  I can see some objects but not others, e.g. mesh furniture (though sometimes, I can see my mesh clothing but not mesh items)

I did change routers lately, but the problem didn't appear immediately after the new router - it was a few weeks later.  It doesn't always happen, and does seem more likely to happen if I log in after 11pm (UK time = 3pm SLT), although more recently, it has been happening mid afternoon (UK time) too.

I know my graphics are underpowered for SL, but it has always worked (albeit slowly) up until recently.

I am on the latest version of Firestorm (32 bit) on Windows Vista SP2 (but while the problem is happening, it also happens on SL viewer)

I've tried various things I found around the net - using Google's DNS instead of my local ISP.. doing a clean install etc, defragging my disk, shutting down all my other programs, turning off my malware protection etc.

The way it happens - the initial login seems to take longer, and the requesting capabilities takes longer, suggests maybe I am getting performance issues, but running speed tests to servers in CA doesn't show up any such.

I don't know what else has changed unless something in a Windows update is slugging the communications

Suggestions?

1 answer to this question