Rude seller of full perm mesh, threatening to DMCA?

Jade Nova

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4161 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I apologize in advance for the long read. My actual question is at the bottom in bold. The long read is the background information regarding the problem.

So I bought a full perm mesh shirt from a seller on the marketplace. I made a few shirts with it and have them for sale in my store on the marketplace, abiding by every one of their terms and conditions for the mesh (repainting the texture entirely, not selling full perm or freebies, etc). 

Anyway, when I opened up the UV map texture for the shirt, I noticed it was really screwy. Not buggy screwy but just didn't make sense why it was unwrapped this way.
this.png

I have plenty of experience in Maya, I just don't have the patience to make my own mesh clothing here on SL. I hate rigging and I hate unwrapping UVs, but I do know how it is done. I also know that when you unwrap the UV you can rearrange the part of the image that goes where on the mesh on the wiremap. As in, you can drag drop and scale each part and arrange it to fit on the map however you want. Now I know that may not be possible in all modeling programs and I have no idea which one this person used but I don't see any reason for having all of this extra space in the texture map. It forced me to have to use 1024x1024 textures instead of 512x512 because the 512 was simply too small for any text to be legible (since the actual wireframe at that point was closer to 256x128). I could still just barely get the resolution I would have had with a normal 512 map, but with the rez time of a 1024. It wasn't a HUGE deal, but I felt it was worth a mention in my review.