Help with the sit on a chair

Devriv

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4191 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyone. I'm just beginning to learn Blender by reading and watching online tutorials. I made a simple chair (without sculpting or texturing) and uploaded it to SL, but when I try to sit on it, my avatar sits quite a few centimeters/inches above where it's supposed to rest (This happens with or without my AOs). I wanted to know whether the cause was something I had overlooked in Blender itself, or a setting in the uploading process I may have ignored. Thank you for your help.

Chair1.pngMesh Chair.png

You're just sitting on the bounding box.  That's all.  You'll need to put a sit target in the chair.  If you're very lucky, this might do it...

default{    state_entry()    {        llSitTarget(< -0.2,0.0,-0.2>,ZERO_ROTATION);    }}

I'm just guessing from the photo that you need to move back and down about 0.2m, and I'm assuming that the +X axis is pointing out the front of the chair.  If those guesses are off a little bit, you can change the numbers.  If I guessed the rotation wrong, you'll have a little more fun. :smileyvery-happy:  When you're done, remove the script.  It won't be needed any more.

• Like 1

Thank you so much Rolig, Drongle, and Dora :)

I finally managed to get it just right using the Sit-Target method. Your replies not only helped me resolve this issue, but clarified other points.