Texture script help needed

Stari Adder

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4211 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

OK so I am a bit new to scripts and was looking for an advice,

I created some clothes (mesh) and would like the same (for instance) one shirt to have different textures, got the textures  and got the shirt, but my need is to make a hud to send the selected texture from hud to the shirt

I know that it is connected with llSay and llListen scripts but after drifting for 3 weeks in wiki library I am just lost =(

so if anyone can help me out with advice where to start it would be great.

Cheers

PS also should I place textures to the hud contant and object as well when add scripts?

That's not a particularly difficult scripting challenge, but it's not one that most beginning scripters will be ready for.  Take a look here for some of the basic considerations in building and scripting a HUD.  To change the texture on any prim, you will need to use llSetLinkPrimitiveParamsFast or an equivalent function, focusing your attention on PRIM_TEXTURE.  In a multiprim object or in the case where you want to apply a different texture to different faces on your prim (or mesh, sculpty...), you will need to identify the prims/faces and apply that function several times.  You may get some ideas by looking at smple texture change scripts here.

to get you started...

in the object: