Why isn't it possible for software to automatically make well-fitting mesh clothing?

Jennifer Boyle

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4323 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have no knowledge of the actual process of making mesh clothing, but I do have some understanding of computing and data-handling principles.  I have developed a love-hate relationship with mesh clothing.  I love it because some of it is absolutely gorgeous, particularly skirts, dresses, and sweaters, and I hate it because so much of it fits so poorly.  I understand how hard it is to make clothing to fit the huge variety of shapes.  Then I started thinking that, in principle, it should be possible to fit each shape exactly.

The viewer, presumably, knows the exact shape of each avatar that it sees up close, and certainly knows the exact shape that the avatar of the account it's running on has at the time.  Therefore, a viewer, or a specialized program connecting to the server in place of a viewer should be able to capture that information and use it to alter a mesh garment to exactly fit the shape.  I realize that there is some complex analytic geometry involved in this, but it appears that nothing that is ground-breaking would be required.  It would really just be calculating the three-dimensional location of a large number of points in one system and making corresponding three-dimensional points in another system have the same, or, perhaps, slightly offset, locations.  I could visualize either a product that consumers could use to alter purchased clothing or one that creators could use to make each customer's clothing fit precisely.  Either way, it would solve a big problem and make my second life better.