fading away prims

Shymus Roffo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4556 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

i've been working on an unpacker script and i noticed some people made prims fade away once someone unpacks or fade to solid when they are rezzed and i have completed but i was wondering how to do it with a "while" or a "for" loop. I am still learning how to use the loops.

llSetAlpha(0.1, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.2, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.3, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.4, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.5, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.6, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.7, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.8, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(0.9, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);
    llSetAlpha(1, ALL_SIDES);
    llSleep(0.1);

this is what i am trying to do with a loop to shorten it.

Your instincts are good.  Avoid using llSleep when you can, because that stalls the entire script.  In a simple script, that might not make any diffrerence, but if you had a listen event and a touch_start event, for example, the script would miss any messages,or touches that came in while it was sleeping.  It's smarter to do your fade in a timer event.  Here's one way ...

llSetTimer(0.1);gFade = 0;  // gFade is a global integer variabletimer(){    llSetAlpha( (float) (++gFade)*0.1, ALL_SIDES);    if (gFade == 10)    {        llSetTimerEvent(0.0);    }}

The first of these examples uses llSleep() as you have but that will make the script stop completely until the fade-in is complete.  The second example uses llSetTimerEvent() so that other events can be processed.  Both examples are for fading from invisible to solid when the object is rezzed.