Help need to find OBJ to TGA converter or 3Ds to TGA converter to make sculpt map

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4594 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

i cant seem to find a converter , i have a sculpt i  made in blender and  i need to turn the file in a tga so i can  make it into a sculpt map in SL , but blender doesnt allow me to save  in that format (tga).. so i'm geussing i need to find a converter of some sort..does anyone know any free converters?

i tried googling but the only ones that came up you had to pay for and reviews were bad.

sorry i'm new to sculpting.

also  SL  doesnt detect obj file ,and i tried uploading using dea or is it dae or whatever  but everytime i tried uploading to SL   it kept crashing my game..the mesh uploader i mean.

Hi Luxz

I dont think you will have much success trying to convert .obj etc into sculpties as the 3D model has to be "unwrapped" into a 2D UV Map...the easiest way i have found is to install Domino marama's scripts into blender (2.49*)and this sets up the basic shapes pre-made for uv mapping.

These are good places to start:-

http://blog.machinimatrix.org/3d-creation/video-tutorials/sculpties-basic-tutorials/modelling-sculpties/

http://robynhuffaker.com/sculptblender/

have fun!!!

To expound a little on what Romsey said, you cannot turn just any old arbitrary mesh into a sculpty.  To be sculpty-compatible, it has to made in a very specific way. 

The best way to think of sculpties is like origami.  Every sculpty is ultimately unfoldable into a perfect rectangle, just as every origami model is unfoldable into a rectangular piece of paper.  No matter how it's been bent, folded, twisted, or stretched in 3D space to take on the appearance of a three-dimensional object, its two-dimensional topology is still just a plain old rectangle.