Help Required With Car Scripting

Mishi Rossini

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4631 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've built myself a car to drive around a friend's race track and I'm developing a free script to make it drive how I want it to. Beyond absolute basics like the syntax of a script, I'm a complete noob here. My work on the script is mostly limited to changing numbers to get the desired effect.

It's all going very well, but I'm stuck with one issue I can't figure out. The car's turning speed lowers as the car's speed does. This is desirable to a degree but in my case it's far too extreme. At low speeds the car barely turns at all, which isn't very racey! I'm happy with the steering at higher speeds, but of course the overall steering values can be adjusted once this problem is fixed.

I'd be very grateful if someone could give me some pointers here! I -do- want the car to turn less at low speeds than it does at high speeds, but I want the effect to be significantly less extreme than it currently is. You'd make me a very happy resident!

You will need to find the control event area. Within those braces ( {} )you will see, most likely, if(CONTROL_ROT_LEFT & blah blah blah. This is possibly where you turning math is at. It basically used a rotating motor and then you put math in it that detects speed...I mean, IF you are using that, which it sounds like you are. But my help stops here because I really don't know what math you have, and you don't seem to know or you might have been able to change it and experiment!

I am thinking you have the 'DT script', which...well, DT is for Drifting Thoughts and that company is Copyrighted by Kayla Stonecutter! You cn't change numbers and give it away as a freebie..you maybe shouldn't even have it and already you are working from copyrighted material! Scripts are like books, you can't just change a few words lol.