Help! Invisible faces!

Thecla

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 395 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm a Blender newbie, for starters, and am wading in deeper by the day with respect to uploading mesh and seeing what works and what does not. Today I've encountered something I can't figure out; an ashtray with some invisible faces along some boolean cuts. I did check "hole tolerant" during the operations, and went back and made quads out of the resulting geometry where it cut through a bevel. I've gone back looking for doubles and other potential trouble makers but I can't find a cause. I've also checked the normals on the faces. Any other suggestions about what might be going on and how to fix it would be most appreciated.

Blender:

https://i.imgur.com/22Zn4c2.png

SL Mesh:

https://i.imgur.com/A9G5bcd.png

I know you said you checked normals, but this looks pretty much like flipped normals on those faces. I would enable backface culling, and hit Shift+N to recalulate outside.

There seem to be an awful lot of Ngons on that mesh as well. I would recommend to get rid of any Ngon before exporting that mesh.

Edited by arton Rotaru
  • Like 1

Wow, I learned a lot in 24 hours, lol. First of all Aquila, yes I had gone back and redid the boolean, with a simpler shape, and the problem persisted and I did not bother taking a new snapshot. Apologies for the confusion.

I had gotten away with ngons previously on some things I had uploaded and so was sloppy. They are now banished, and starting to learn how to alter/fix the topology to avoid or get rid of them has been a useful education.