Depth of field and alpha hair

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 687 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Alpha hair tends to 'glitch' against a light background - the hair and the background become all messed up. It's bearable under normal conditions. But when I turn on Depth of Field in order to take a portrait shot, the glitching becomes greatly magnified to the point of ruining the photo. While it might be possible to blur it out in a photo editing app, I feel it would be better to take a cleaner shot to start with.

So, does anyone have any tips for how to mitigate this issue? (Turning off DoF works, but I'd like to be able to use it if at all possible).

I'm no expert in using DoF, currently experimenting having read an article in the latest edition of Focus magazine (an in-world SL publication). My settings are taken from recommendations in the article (the rest are default) and I'm using Firestorm:

View angle: 0.783

FOV: 22.9

FOC: 50

CoC (circle of confusion): 29.0

f-number 5.6

I hope you can see the glitching effect on the attached photo. Let me know if not and I'll set up one that's more 'extreme'.

Any solutions?

DoF practice June22_026-crop.jpg

This is likely an issue with forward vs deferred rendering, as alpha blending is done in a forward renderer, however pretty much all other effects happen in the deferred renderer. (This is also why objects that use alpha blending are often lit incorrectly, as the scene lighting happens in the deferred renderer).

Alpha blending is a real PITA in many ways, so if the hair is mod-enabled, you can swap it to alpha-masking which will fix the issue (hint: play around with the mask cutoff settings until it looks good, most hairs can look good in alpha-masking but require tweaking).