invitations, permissions and permenance

Malikharper

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 939 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I had the opportunity today to see something that surprised me. An avatar was invited to participate in a hug, which the avatar accepted.  This opened a connection between the initiator of animation and gave control to the initiator of the request long after the initial hug animation was finished.

I'm a software engineer who is totally ignorant of the secondlife scripting and permission system. But now I'm curious about how second life manages the roles and permissions of animations. Can someone briefly describe how the interaction of two secondlife avatars interact when an invitation is sent to your avatar?

In particular, I'm curious about:

A. How the payload of animation/script get delivered? Where is it stored?

B. When you accept an invitation, how are permissions established for what the script is allowed to do.

C. How long are permissions granted? How do you revoke them?

D. How can you identify who currently has access to "inject" command or  execute a script  associated with your avatar?

I recognize this is kind of a big ask, and  I am appreciative of any insights even if it's just pointing me at documentation that can answer my questions.

Thanks.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Malikharper said:

B. When you accept an invitation, how are permissions established for what the script is allowed to do.

The permission is stored into the script that requested permission with llRequestPermissions. The animation is started with llStartAnimation.

Permanently (unless the script makes another permission request). You can't revoke them if the script doesn't currently exist in the same sim as you.

D. How can you identify who currently has access to "inject" command or  execute a script  associated with your avatar?