Anyone wanting to start a skin business/training+hiring skin artist/what is the business like?

Nightingalia

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1005 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi!! I've maybe said this too many times but I am a professional digital artist who draws great portraits in RL (yes I know skins are made mostly from photobashing but I can do that too) :D

I've never thought of starting a business in SL since I assumed it would be hella hard (I'm sure some of you are going to agree) BUT I just watched a Speed Skin Creation on youtube and I'm shocked.

Maybe the youtuber did it with clever editing but it looked way easier than I thought! I've learnt basic Blender in college and so I assumed to make a skin you'd have to map the UV thing by hand or something but the youtuber just did it on photoshop 0.0  This is the video in question btw, so I'm hoping if someone with experience can lmk if the video is accurate to the difficulty level of making skins.

With that being said, I still don't know a lot of what the youtuber was doing, how she mapped the texture just through photoshop, how to actually export it into SL, etc. I'm definitely very interested in this business now (and I hope I don't sound naive saying this ><) so if anyone is looking for a skin texture artist and is willing to train me I'd love to work with you! I can send you some of my digital work to prove that I can use photoshop ^_^

https://github.com/eloheliot/another

https://sites.google.com/site/another/resources (sorry, this link dont work anymore, i search for other and post later)