new to building, need some advice :)

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4733 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

hey everyone, i decided i might try to make models for Second Life after a friend suggested it to me

i have 2 years experience with 3DSMax so i know my way around it and have that side of things covered, i can install the exporter and do that, so thats covered

because im new to second life and its building side, i need a little advice on a few things

is there a way to preview a model before you pay to upload to second life? or is it just a case of make sure its right first time before uploading?

also if i make objects for an avatars accessories, how will i know theyre placed correctly if i want to sell them? do accessories need any coding or can they be simple prims?

any advice would be appreciated on starting building :)

thanks

Hi,

It is great that you are interested in creation in Second Life!

Yes, you can preview your creations for free on beta grid called Aditi. At the moment you can even preview mesh there. The files for mesh are Collada files (.dae). If you want to import mesh you need to find Mesh sandbox on Aditi.

You can sell your creations on Marketplace. You can adjust prim to avatar and the position of prims will be the same when other person attach it. However please keep in mind that you will have to deal with scripts also eg  scripts for resize or color change. There are ready scripts for creators to buy but you need to check it. When all is ready you just pack it into one prim/box and sell it at Marketplace. The person who  buys it unpack the box and have all prims in one folder and can attach them. I highly recommend to see Torley's tutorials about Second Life on youtube. There are also very well organized help groups for builders. I would recommend Builders Brewery.