Clipping and how exactly to fix it

EdieDim

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1417 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all, 

I am new to making mesh, I started two weeks ago, so I apologize if my question is naive. Taking the problem by its tail: my clothing looks good in blender, well not good as I'm only testing how things work for now but it is rigged and moving along, no clipping after weight painting and testing the bone motions. But in second life, it clips where it didn't before. My question is "what exactly is the process of figuring out what will clip" when it isn't showing in blender, and then what tools are available apart from blurring and adding and taking away some weight? How do you do it?

And to reverse the problem and possibly take it in the correct order, am I missing something in the previous steps?

I have noticed that marvelous absolutely insists on giving me triangles for the backs of dresses, shirts, everything when it is set to quads and the front is very nice quads. Is that part of it?

What else might I be missing?

I'll be grateful for any help at all.....

It also depends on what body you are putting the clothing on. If it's a mesh body, with the system body completely alpha'd, and you are copying weights from teh mesh body to your clothing, then you have a shot at getting it to fit without clipping. If you put the mesh clothing over a system body and use the Appearance sliders to adjust body parts, then it's less likely to match - the system body uses morphs to change size and attached mesh uses vertex weights. You'll usually need alpha textures on the body to hide the bits that clip.  

4 hours ago, Kyrah Abattoir said:

• Are you using avastar?
  • Is it rigged to the volume/fitmesh bones?
  • Have you tried with a different shape?

How proficient are you at modeling withing Blender?