Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
MeganNylon

can i log on invisible to my friends?

Question

  • 0

Create an alt :)

You can set all your friends to not be able to see your online status before you logout but chances are that will just get you a load of IMs from any that notice wondering why you did it....People get very sensitive sometimes lol...Its easier to just have an alt that doesn`t know anyone that you know.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Create an alt :)

You can set all your friends to not be able to see your online status before you logout but chances are that will just get you a load of IMs from any that notice wondering why you did it....People get very sensitive sometimes lol...Its easier to just have an alt that doesn`t know anyone that you know.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You can also set yourself to 'Busy' mode while you explore if you do not wish to be disturbed.  You can set a message to show if someone IMs you while you are in Busy mode.  Alternatively, you can tell your friends who IM you that you are busy and will get back to them later. If they are friends, they will understand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

All you can do is to disable everyone from seeing your online status by unchecking the boxes in the friends list. I do this every time before I log off, and then selectively make myself visible to select friends after logging in if I feel like socializing.

Your friends will still be able to see your true online status though, with the help of scripted tools or third party viewers. Some 3rd party viewers will even inform them that you're hiding from them. I merely hide from people to indicate that I don't want to be disturbed, similar to turning off a cellphone.

Busy mode is also an option, but it has lots of drawbacks. You won't be able to see the public chat, or have an IM conversation without sending your busy message to the other person whenever they type something. Busy mode also automatically declines inventory offers such as notecards, which renders it unusable for content creators and merchants.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...