Completely new, trying to get clothing to work.

BrynhildrBjornsdottir

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3149 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyone,

I just started Second Life, and so far it's pretty cool to run around and look at everything. I know there are events and such, but I'm still learning and all that. My problem is that I can't seem to find clothing that works with my avatar.

I know it is easier if you use a "classic" avatar, but I don't care for any of them, even with all the adjustments I make. I've chosen the "Sara" avatar, and then modified height/weight and other things that I could modify. I have some hair I like and some accessories and such, but I can't seem to find any shoes/boots, pants/skirts, or tops that fit her without graphical problems. Like they will cover only a small part of her, or be floating somewhere odd, or not attach to the right part of the body. I've made her very short, so that may be one of the issues, I am not sure. I know that the avatar I'm using can only use "mesh" clothing, and that the little orange box icon is the only stuff I can wear. I also know how to unpack/open stuff and all of that... or at least I think I do. I've done several community tutorials, but still can't seem to figure it all out.

Anyway, any suggestions or advice on what/where to look for clothing that would actually fit. I've looked into designing my own, but have not been successful thus far.

Thank you for your time and help.

Bryn

The reason people suggest using a classic avatar is that the mesh starter avatars don't work with any other clothing. There is no mesh made to fit them, and they do not have any kind of alpha HUD to hide any part of the mesh body so that you can wear regular mesh clothing. You wear what it came with.