Jump to content

Allow Public Access + Allow Group Access


Qwalyphi Korpov
You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1922 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Recommended Posts

Here:

https://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/Group-owned-land/ta-p/700079

I read this:

Restricting access to group land

If a parcel of land is owned by (or set to) a group, the landowner (who may also be the group owner) or another group member with the right abilities can restrict access to allow group members only. This is useful for private events. Here's how:

  1. Choose World > Place Profile > About Land.
  2. Click the GENERAL tab.
  3. Verify that the desired group is shown next to Group. If not click Set, choose the right group, and click OK.
  4. Click the ACCESS tab.
  5. Deselect Allow Public Access.
  6. Select Allow Group Access.

However when I skip step 5 only group members have access & ban lines go up.

What's up with that?

Link to post
Share on other sites

If you allow public access then group members can enter too, so I am not sure why you need public access and group access at the same time.

Setting the land to group access only prohibits non group members from entering.  Anytime you set a restriction ban lines go up for anyone that is not allowed in.  There is no way around it.

Link to post
Share on other sites


Amethyst Jetaime wrote:

If you allow public access then group members can enter too, so I am not sure why you need public access and group access at the same time.

Setting the land to group access only prohibits non group members from entering.  Anytime you set a restriction ban lines go up for anyone that is not allowed in.  There is no way around it.

Exactly.  At the same time there's the question 'Why do you not need them both?'

Because if you follow the instructions steps 1-6 or you follow 1-4 and jump to 6 the results are the same.

So why do you need one when both does the same thing?

See?  Are we deselecting Allow Public Access just to make things look better?  Is it because the viewer should automatically deselect Allow Public Access ... but someone forgot to code it that way ten years ago?   Maybe there's a good reason it's this way.  idk.  I  found an old video about this stuff.  Unfortunately the part about Allow Public Access was mangled in the audio.  So no help there.

Link to post
Share on other sites

The way this works was changed in August 2013 with server version 13.08.23.280213, along with a viewerside change.

A new feature was added to allow a parcel to be configured to allow users to enter a parcel if they are members of the parcel's group OR have payment info on file.

Before this change, enabling 'Allow public access' caused  'Allow group access' to become disabled in the viewer.

The new behaviour with the parcel access settings is a bit confusing though.

For reference see:

http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Release_Notes/Second_Life_RC_BlueSteel/13#13.08.23.280213  - Server version where behaviour was changed - Preparatory work to support new estate and parcel access controls

 

https://community.secondlife.com/t5/Second-Life-Server/Deploys-for-the-week-of-2013-08-26/td-p/2163873/page/2

- Discussion about the new behavour

 

https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/BUG-4994  - If both allow public access and allow group access are ticked under About Land -> Access, only group members can access the parcel, even though allow public access is enabled and not greyed out.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...