I really need help with lag problems

kaity Ametza

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3369 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hello, i've been playing secondlife for a good 5 years now and I don't want to stop now. 

Recently a couple months ago my computer started to slow down and thus, crashed a lot . So I did a complete reboot on it, either times Secondlife was incredibly slow and laggy but it never crashed. It still doesn't, it's just awfully laggy. 

My computer info: Computer

Viewer: Firestorm w. Havok x32

I'm not sure if that's enough information to identify the source of the problem. But I have one graphics card in right now, as the other three have died on me. I've read a lot online about it could be the CPU usage, and I need to buy a new CPU or new graphics cards, but i'm not sure if I should. I don't want to waste money on something that wouldn't help.

I've also tried doing step by step tutorials on reducing lag in Secondlife, and none of it worked. I don't have much of anything downloaded onto my computer but Skype, Sai and a tablet driver (of course Firestorm). It has never done this to me before, but i've been without Secondlife for a couple months now and I can't handle it anymore. Looking for answers but not finding any, so I need help and advice on what can I do, to make my game not lag as bad!

The lag is so bad, to even move the game freezes for 2 minutes then resumes. It's not the region, because I managed to go to several other's with less particals+scripts and to no avail.

Advice please??

1 answer to this question