[New and in need of some tips and guidance.]

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3627 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello everyone :) 

I'm new to SL and have done an alright job of figuring things out thus far, however there are a few questions that remain unanswered to me and I was hoping to get some tips to make my time here easier and more fun. I watched a documentary about SL called "Life 2.0" a couple of nights ago on Netflix and I knew right away that I wanted to join. I wasn't prepared for how confusing certain things could prove to be however. Thanks in advance for any help :robotwink:

• I feel as though my inventory and wardrobe are incredibly disorganized and confusing. Any tips on ways to organize the items here? (ex: I chose a random avatar as my base to sign up but all of the clothes that she was wearing are still there, do I have to keep them and if so can I not categorize all items I own under titles such as "tops,bottoms,makeup,shoes etc." ?)
  • I purchased some different clothing items and accessories but didn't know how to "try them on" before buying them... is there a way to do so?
  • Can you change your avatar's physical features (ex: the shape and look of the face and skin, size of breasts/body etc.) and if so how?
  • My SL viewer seems to be lagging and going quite slow in comparison to the regular websites I visit (obviously, I realize it is quite content heavy). I was wondering if anyone has tips on ways to make it run faster, or what kind of specs I would be looking for when buying a computer that has better graphics capability? (that may be way out of anyone's realm of advice but I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask)