Tris to Quads using Autodesk Maya

Zlyskritek1488315261

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3677 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

I am very new to Maya, as I am used to Blender for rigging meshes. I have found this thread, where there is a description on how to use a free script to turn tris mesh from Marvelous Designer to a quads mesh.

http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Mesh/Maya-Boolean-making-mesh-vanish/m-p/2461747/highlight/true#M25519

Acutally they are using this set of scripts, with some additional work (wrap and blendshape).

https://sites.google.com/site/adamvanner/scripts-and-tools/marvellous-designer-quad-mesh-in-maya

I have followed the thread and succesfully prepared a quads mesh, however the border edges are not sewed together, what then makes a huge problem in rigging.

I have tried to use another plug-in from the same source, that is said to be a solution. As I understand, it should make vertexes along the border edges that correspond with each other and it is possible then to merge them and sew the UV border edges.

https://sites.google.com/site/adamvanner/scripts-and-tools/avmergeedgescmd

But I am not able to make it work. Although the plug-in is listed in my plug-in manager, I am not able to load it. I keep getting this error:

avMergeEdgesCmd();
// Error: line 1: Cannot find procedure "avMergeEdgesCmd". //
// Error: line 1: Unable to dynamically load : C:/Program Files (x86)/Autodesk/Maya2013/bin/plug-ins/avMergeEdgesCmd.mll
//
// Error: line 1: //
// Error: line 1: (avMergeEdgesCmd) //

There are two files to be used: avMergeEdgesCmd.cpp and avMergeEdgesCmd.mll - yet I am lost in where to copy these and/or what to import.

Does anyone see what I am doing wrong, please? 

Or, is there any better way how to do this?

Thank you for help.

Hi.