Need some friendly assistance diagnosing a problem with my mesh. (Blender)

Chriss Daysleeper

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3930 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey guys, thank you for taking your time to read this thread :)

I've recently been following Candybytes rigged clothing series on Youtube since I'm a complete beginner to Blender.  Unfortunately though, her guides are very outdated and require a lot of side tutorials to help me move forward. Having said that though, I believe I've taken in the basic knowledge and feel rather confident in what I'm doing. At least that's what I thought. 

I'm going to show you a few images of some problems I've encountered after uploading the mesh onto Second Life and hope that some of you will share your thoughts on the matter.

Problems:

The first image you can see a small avatar appearing from the neck area of the mesh top. I originally changed the top, legs, and head mesh to a male model using the shape keys.

First.png

The second image is, well.. it's just insanely deformed. I'm guessing this is also partly because of the first problem. I had just decided to go ahead and upload the mesh to check the rigging.

Second.png

Anyway... If anyone would like to share their ideas, please feel free :) I don't plan on giving up that easily, and will be trying to find the problem by myself in the meantime. This is all very intimidating to me though, there's so much information to take in, I'd very much appreciate anyones help. Thank you for your time!

Here some quick tips:

• Always apply scale and rotation before you export. that avoids the large differences in scale between the mesh avatar and the shirt.
  • Ensure that the mesh avatar always looks into positive X direction (and scale and rotation is applied) before you export.