Help understanding faces and rotations in prims

KevinLeap

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3942 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am new at scripting and am trying to learn how to develop scripts to assist building. I am studying the OpenAlign script by Edward L. Platt and find that I am super confused by some of the operations it performs when translating from rotations to faces to textures. Is there any reference that explains how prims information is accessed, or the meta model used to record this information? Any assistance or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you

Faces are easier than rotations.

To find out which face you want to texture:-

1. Edit the object
  2. Set the Edit mode to Select Face
  3. Select the face you want to texture
  4. Use Ctrl+Alt+Shift+T to get texture information and the relevant face number.
  5. Use the face number in your script

Has anyone made a reference model? Not really, though I suppose you could take a look at the Ivory Tower of Prims.

Thanks, for the info, but I'm talking about how to understand the programatic aspect of doing this...

The script I am reading talks about Euler coordinates and converting from global rotations to local rotations. I want to find a reference that describes how this information is kept so that I have half a chance to understand the script I am working with. The OpenAlign script tries to make secondary prims match the texture mapping of the primary prim. It seems to do this ok, but does not adjust the offsets on the textures correctly to match the horizonatl or vertical distance of the prim from the primary. Reading the script, it seems to do some things as though by magic making it very difficult to understand where I can make adjustments to the code to add in the behavior I want.

Some reference documentation on how the prim faces are stored might enable me to understand this better.