data from one object effecting which notecard is read in another.

Tighern McDonnell

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4163 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Yes I am still a newbie when it comes to the scripting. Been in SL for 5 years now but just taking on scripting. Here is what I am trying to do...

Object A has a speak on channel X when touched. It says its description.

Object B currently listens for that description and then says a line on public channel. Very simple...

What I want to make it do is Object A stay the same... Object B, listen on channel for description, have that description be the name of the notecard on file in object B. Object B then reads the line contained on notecard...

Where I am confused is I use a listen line in current setup... everytime i try and put that set of lines in the other script it doesn't work.

key kQuery;
integer iLine = 0;
string notecard_name
key notecard_key = NULL_KEY;

config_init()
{
    key nc_key = llGetInventoryKey(notecard_name);
    if (nc_key == notecard_key)
    {
        // Some other inventory item changed, not the configuration notecard.
        return; // Skip reading the notecard in this case.
    }
    // Remember the new notecard key from now on.
    notecard_key = nc_key;
    iLine = 0;
    kQuery = llGetNotecardLine(notecard_name, iLine);
}

{
    state_entry()
    {
        // Read the notecard once at startup.
        config_init();
    }

changed(integer change)
    {
        if (change & CHANGED_INVENTORY)         
        {
            // Read the notecard when the inventory has changed.
            config_init();
        }
    }

dataserver(key query_id, string data) 
    {
        if (query_id == kQuery) 
        {
            // this is a line of our notecard
            if (data == EOF) 
            {
                llOwnerSay("Finished reading configuration.");
            } 
            else 
            {