Viewer Freezes at Initializing VFS

Sparks Zarco

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4350 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

First off I will start with my computer's Specs.

Windows 7 64bit

4 GB DDR2 6400 Ram

2.0GHZ Intel DualCore Processor

Nivida Geforce 7 Go 256MB dedicated video

Ok so I already have run SecondLife on this computer before and just the other day it stoped working. The viewer freezes up at "Initializing VFS" and all I get is an empty box. It does not even show the login screen. Now I have googled this problem all night and the only solution I am able to find is about manualy clearing the cash and uninstalling and reinstalling. I have done ALL of this and nothing is working. Mind you that I am a Computer Tech and I still can not figure out this issue. All of my Drivers are also updated, that was one of the first things I checked. I also updated Java, Flash Player and Quicktime as well. I used to have this problem before because I did not have Microsoft C++ 2005, 2008, and 2010 installed, and also all of the Net Framworks, but this is all up to date and still nothing is working. If anyone has any other solutions please let me know. Thank You.

4 answers to this question

Strange that clearing the AppData folders didn`t fix it, that is usually all it takes when you ge that error suddenly without changing anything. It sounds like it didnt` start after a viewer update or anything correct?

There are folders in both Local & Roaming on Windows 7, so make sure you got rid of them both & rebooted. If you did already find both, see if you get the same error on another viewer. Firestorm is a good one to test with if you haven`t used it before, because it installs to a different location.

Hello. Try this.

1) Uninstall the viewer.

2) Use a program for delete damaged archives like CCleaner or another of your preference.