• Sign in to follow this  

    Sharing inventory items


    Giving an object

    There are several ways you can transfer objects from your inventory to another Resident. Keep in mind that although the Resident does not need to be on your MY FRIENDS list, the object does need to have transfer permissions.

    Sharing with a friend

    To share an item with a someone on your Friends list:

    1. Click the Inventory button on the toolbar to open the INVENTORY window.
    2. Select the item you wish to share.
    3. Click Share at the bottom of the INVENTORY window. The CHOOSE RESIDENT window opens.
    4. Choose a recipient from your Friends list. To choose more than one, hold down Ctrl while clicking additional names with your mouse.
    5. A window opens, asking you to confirm that you wish to share the item with the Resident indicated. Click Ok to complete the transfer.
    6. If the Resident is online, the item is delivered immediately. If not, it is saved to the recipient's inventory.

    Sharing with any Resident

    If the intended recipient is not on your Friends list:

    1. Open My Inventory and click on the item you wish to share.
    2. Click Share at the bottom of the INVENTORY window. The CHOOSE RESIDENT window opens.
    3. In the CHOOSE RESIDENT window, select the Search tab.
    4. Type part of the person's name into the search field and click Go.
    5. Choose the desired recipient from the search results, click on his or her name, and hit Select.
    6. A window opens, asking you to confirm that you wish to share the item with the Resident indicated. Click Ok to complete the transfer.
    7. If the Resident is online, the item is delivered immediately. If not, it is saved to the recipient's inventory.
    32px-KBtip.png Tip: You can also use the Near Me tab in the CHOOSE RESIDENT window to locate nearby Residents. If you are within view of the person's avatar, you can drag the object from your inventory directly onto the avatar or the avatar's name tag. Just be careful when using this method, as it's possible to drop the object on the wrong avatar by accident, especially in crowded areas.

    Receiving an object

    To prevent possible inventory losses, Second Life automatically accepts all inventory offers.  Whenever you receive an inventory item, Second Life presents you with a dialog containing the following options:

    • Show - Opens your inventory and highlights the received item.
    • Discard - Sends the newly accepted inventory item directly to your Trash folder.
    • Block - Blocks the Resident who sent you the object.
    Sign in to follow this  


    User Feedback


    There are no comments to display.