HELP? Translating Portuguese to English: do you know of a good translation service?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4452 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have quite a few international customers (don't know quite how I got them) and usually Google translation does a good job. Lately though I have been getting an increasing amount of Portuguese customers & with this particular language it seems Google translation really struggles... it is quite hacky and very tough to communicate even the simplest of ideas.

Does anybody know of a good translation system for Portuguese language?

I feel bad I can't serve these people as smoothly as my other customers :matte-motes-impatient:

I would hire multi-lingual CSRs as this is obviously the optimal solution, but I can't afford that as I'm just an artist working from home.

it struggles for the same reason that spellcheckers weitten for american english choke on UK english..... the local variations for brazil are just a bit too far off the mark for it.

if you know a little spanish or even a little latin (especially sentence order/structure)  you can often pick out the words that it's choking on and correct them enough to make it more understandable...

unfortunately I haven't found anything better either, so if you do, let us all know

I know a very little Spanish, more of French but still not very much & some Latin root words I understand.

Spanish I have no trouble with translating! Occassionally I even know what they are saying without translating it & feel very proud :matte-motes-asleep-2:

I know what you mean being very similar to Spanish, but I guess I don't know enough to decode it or maybe I am just getting some of the more unusual dialects with lots of slang or something.