My computer turns itself off when loading SL the second time I try to log in after installing.

Victoria83

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4747 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I started playing about 6 days ago. For the first 3 days it was fine, I was using the standard SL Client from Linden Labs. Then all of a sudden I started crashing, and not just getting logged out, or crashing to the desktop, but my system completely shuts down as if the power was turned off. No 'shut down' sequence, just BLINK and it's gone.

It's not the first time I enter Second Life after downloading the client, but the second time. I thought it was a cache problem, but I uninstalled the client completely (including cache folder) and created a brand new account, reinstalled and stayed on the tutorial island. The second time I logged in I crashed again. It's not always at the same place in the login cycle, sometimes it's as soon as I log in, sometimes it's just before the avatar starts loading.

I tried the top two 3rd party clients to try to get around it, and with both it was the same thing, the second time I log in it crashes, BLINK, turned off the system.

Fans are working fine, no other game does this, heat 'shouldn't' be an issue because there is plenty of ventilation, also as far as I know my power supply is more than good enough for my system (married a computer geek and he takes care of these things).

Before it started crashing this badly it was crashing when I teleported, but that was the client disconnecting me every time I teleported. Now it's BLINK, nothing.

So, any suggestions would be appreciated since every search I've done points to a cache problem, but that should be taken care of by reinstalling with a clean cache, or at the very least by the brand new account on tutorial island.

Thanks for anything you might come up with.

4 answers to this question