Interested In Finding LSL Discussion Groups

gregwen71

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2599 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello. I'm a returning resident. I've been gone for quite a while, and to be honest, my only reason for returning was an old friend offering a script commission. Over the past week, since this offer arose, I've been thinking, "What would it take for me to actually return to SL, rather than a short stint to complete a script project?"

The answer I came up with is that I would like to be more "involved". But, with what? Programming is sort of my "Happy Place". I can do it for hours and not notice the world pass me by. So, I was hoping that I might have an opportunity to become more involved through discussion groups containing experienced scripters. I don't know, though, if anything like what I"m thinking exists in SL.

Obviously, I realize this forum is here to help others that ask questions, and there are several groups inworld that I can join (also meant to help others with script issues), but I'm looking for something of a higher level, so to speak. In my thoughts, I would imagine a discussion group of adept scripters that engage with Linden Labs regarding LSL and it's issues and upcoming changes. But, it doesn't have to be something so formal... a group that meets regularly to discuss scripting, LSL, projects, etc where there is opportunity to create collaboration is what I'm looking for.

I hope I've explained myself well. If anyone has suggestions for me, it would be much appreciated.

Thank you,
Logan Reigns

Edited by gregwen71

I know you've already considered it but you might try joining some of the in-world scripting groups to see what you make of them, particularly College Of Scripting, Music Science, Scripts or Script Academy (full disclosure: I'm a moderator for Scripts and an owner of Script Academy).