new to house making,(ANSWERED)

MishkaKatyusha

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3039 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

well first things first,im a little new to house building,but relatively experienced in graphical object making.

the one thing i cant understand is what is so morosely wrong with second life's collision analyzer.

most of the things ive worked with in the past took there collision surface straight from the surface of the object itself.

far as i can tell,it seems one of two things on here:

1.you can upload your own physics shape,which actually seems abit crude unless your desperate to save space,which im not

2.second life's default collision surface seems to be permanently stuck in "one dimension mode" ,which is a term i sue to describe antiquated physics engines that cant calculate beyond an object that is in reality one dimensional,like say a cube or a sphere with a shape but only one continuous surface

but nevertheless.i assume given the rich variety of houses on here a way to trick or soundly defeat the antiquated collision calculations in second life has been found.

since im not familiar with these tricks,nor looking to save space in the prim count or upload cost.

i could use a straightfoward,step-by,-step explanation of how to make it so i can actually draw the collision shape from the model itself,which is basically a roughed up tube (im open to using a simple tube model as a physics shape if the aforementioned problem can be solved).for reference here is a picture