My Avatar is Scaring Villagers

Mandy6767

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3872 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I got a shape, put a skin on it. and it didn't look like the picture.

So I started playing with the sliders and now it doesnt even look human.

I have tried other shapes to get it to look like those, but it seems when you change the sliders the effects persist.  I have tried the reset avatar trick by draging a file from the library, but the face remains scary.

Do I need to give up and start a new account?  Or is there a way to recover?  If so, how?

Mandy6767 wrote:

I got a shape, put a skin on it. and it didn't look like the picture.

So I started playing with the sliders and now it doesnt even look human.

I have tried other shapes to get it to look like those, but it seems when you change the sliders the effects persist.  I have tried the reset avatar trick by draging a file from the library, but the face remains scary.

Do I need to give up and start a new account?  Or is there a way to recover?  If so, how?

You don't need to start a new account. You can replace your shape as many times as you wish and you can have as many shapes as you want in your inventory.

In order to recover, I know of several options

1. If you saved the changes, an automatic copy is made (this is what happens in my inventory). You should still have the original shape in your inventory. The modified shape (the one you changed) will have "new" after the name of the item if you don't rename it. They will all be in the same folder, the one at the bottom is the original shape. Replace it.

Anytime you modify, choose save as and rename so you can keep track.

If that is not the case: