Poser 9 Advice

Morgaine Christensen

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4184 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I noticed that Poser 9 is available for $69.99 USD, which probably means they are getting ready to release a new version. So am I am seeking advice whether I should purchase it or not. 

While I am not completely new to the idea of making my owner poses/animations, I am a newb.  I have fooled around with QVAnimator in the past, but had so many other projects I gave up on it.  I run a Mac and understand QV won't allow you to save files without crashing with Lion.  Blender animation...well....not ready to go there and DAZ just confuses the crap out of me..so am looking at Poser.  Like anything I know there will probably be a huge learning curve.  

What I would like to know from more experienced and even new users:

Is it easy to learn from a complete newb perspective?

Is there a huge set-up for SL?

Does it export/save .bvh files to upload to SL. 

Are add-ons required?  If so, what would I need?

Are there any newb related, SL specific tutorials to help me learn/create at least static poses? 

Thank you for your patience and time.

In regards to a new Poser release, I wouldn't be expecting one until next year (going by past experience, at least). Poser-9 and Poser Pro 2012 (the high end version of the vanilla Poser-9) were released last year, and generally Smith Micro release a new version each two years.