Maya Sculpts - Bitmap error.

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4416 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So, im new to this of uploading models to second life, i followed all the possible steps i could find online to fix my problem but no luck.

NOTE: This model was started as a cube.

One thing i did realize, is that the only way for htis not to happend (or for it to almost not happen) is if i make aa sphere 20x20 (and god that's tedious to work with for a beginner.)

Model in maya: http://i.imgur.com/SiBue.png

Model in SL: http://i.imgur.com/KT8T0.png

Bitmap (SL): http://i.imgur.com/Xl5vt.png

From your picture of the sculpt map, it's obvious that your model is not actually a sculpty.  The UV layout appears to be that Maya's default polygonal cube.  That's just not how sculpties work.

Upload it as a mesh model instead, and it'll work fine as is.  If you  really, really, really want it to be a sculpty, you're going to have to start all over again, and make it with sculpty-compatible geometry and mapping.  You can find instructions to get you started creating a sculpty-compatible cuboid in the third post of this thread: http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Building-and-Texturing-Forum/Maya-2011-and-sculptmap-exporter-script/m-p/724409#M116  (or in any of the other gazillion threads where I posted it, back when sculpties were more relevant than they are now.)  There's also a video, in post 6, of that same thread. (Read the instructions before you watch the video, since the video is not narrated.)

There's no way to make a sculpty from a default polygonal cube.  Sculpties use singularly planar topology.  Cubic topology won't do.