Looking for some help with Jewelry

Chrissy Ambrose

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4346 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi I am looking for some help with mesh jewelry. I am fairly new to creating with mesh being a blender newbie though quite used to creating sculpt items for my pieces.

I wanted to know initially about uploading jewelry and how I can reduce land impact and upload cost. I made a diamond bracelet using 3 ways, all of which prove expensive or unsatisfactory compared to sulpties, though the result is lovely.

Ist I created a single diamond and setting with med and high lod as options got them down to 1 prim land impact for the gem and 2 for the setting, but they disappeared from view when not too far away. I figured they need to be High Lod so re-loded them with that option and found the land impact for the bracelet to be 429. (a simple necklace was 770 using the same objects).

I then made the whole bracelet in blender, planning to upload them in 2 parts one for the gems and one for the settings. Using High Lod again , and scale to 50% the cost for gems is 150l with land impact of 139 and the settings 220 to upload with a land impact of 250.

I am not really saving myself a lot on land impact, but paying a lot more on cost.

I was under the impression that creating a whole item to upload was more efficient, saved land cost and helped lag. I must be doing something wrong .

Can anyone help me with this and also can anyone help with a general jewelry help in blender, a group perhaps to join or mentors willing to give advice.

Thank you in Advance

Chrissy

1. What do you mean when you say "they need to be High Lod so re-loded them with that option" and "Using High Lod again" ?

2. Can you click the More Info lonk in the edit dialog and tell us whether the high LI is because of high download weight or high physics weight (whichever is the higher).