Multi-CH and Non-PS Previews

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4783 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

There was a question asked right before the forum changed again. Looks like we have stickies again, which is good news.

I did test MCH with an old demo of Painter 7 and the preview was all black. However, once I committed MCH, all was fine once I got back to the working document. This means that working with MCH might be blind depending on your host. I honestly don't know if this is due to non-compliace of FilterMeister or non-compliace of non-Photoshop hosts.

The app in question was The Gimp, of which I have no real experience with. Claire the Awesome did show how to get The Gimp to use MCH, but I do not recall if she said that the Preview was working properly.

That's all I got.

I'm running GIMP 2.6.8 with PSPI (PhotoShop Plug In), using TS3D_multichanhaxv1b on Win7 Pro SP1 and the preview window is currently working for me. I've listed all the pieces of the puzzle in the hopes of figuring out why it's picky with previews.

Multi Chan Hax worked for me the first time I tried using it in GIMP but I may have been lucky. I ranted about it to another GIMP user on my friends list and she reported the black preview window. The weird thing was we were using the same version of GIMP, same OS, same MCH filter and files- but she saw a black preview window *sighs*. In the time between then and now I've seen MCH work and not work for me in GIMP on my own computer and there seems to be no logical reason why it happens.