How to donate part of my business sales to a charity?

Kyriakos Collas

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4214 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I am a designer who runs a virtual store in the marketplace. I plan to donate partial proceeds of the sales of my stuff to a charity on a permanent basis. I am thinking of Doctors without Borders but I have not made a final decision yet. What is the best system to do this? Also, how can I be totally transparent to my customers providing them a proof of the donation and, how do I go about doing this? At first I was thinking it is not really necessary my customers to know about that. However I feel if I were a customer and some part of my L's would be donated to a charity as well, I would be really happy if I was aware of it. I would demand though a reliable proof of what the merchant would state regarding this donation. I have no idea how to move on with that so any help would be deeply appreciated!

Thank you in advance for any ideas about this matter.

• Like 1

2 answers to this question

When I've done in the past the same thing you want to do, I published periodically in my blog/forum the receipts (scanned) showing the donation to DWB or any other organization with a biref explanation about L$ received, sell in LindeX, etc.

I guess there are other systems, of course, but this system worked for me.

• Like 2

Congratulations for your generous project Kyriakos. :smileyhappy: I don't doubt others will come with accurate replies to your answer. I just wanted to give you this link about charity in Second Life for an overview of the subject:

http://virtual-economy.org/2010/10/02/sharing_in_second_life_charity/

The following paragraphs seem to be interesting as to how you could proceed.