Exporting from Maya 2013 issues

Confessions

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4333 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi there, I'm new to modelling, just started infact.

I made my first ever model, it's extremely basic, it was a test. I made a chest of drawers.

I textured it very basically.

Then I saved it as a 2011 FBX file and then used the 2011 FBX converter to convert it into a Collada file.

Now when I try to upload it I see no textures, it's blank white and the nurb primitives I created are missing too.

Any help would be much appreciated!

You can not use Nurbs for creating mesh for SL.  Polygon is the only mesh type that can be uploaded to SL.

You can convert your nurbs to polygons and then export it.

You can try uploading your textures manually to SL.  Then rez your mesh and apply the texture.

Hope that helps. :)

Cathy

• Like 1

Just to expand a little on what Cathy said, it's not just that you can't use NURBS for SL.  You can't use NURBS for any realtime simulation at all.  The math that drives them is just too complicated for realtime use. 

You'll never see NURBS in video games or virtual worlds, ever.  NURBS were first developed for industrial design applications, and have been used quite extensively in film.  They have no place in games or virtual worlds.

As for the texturing issue, I'm not sure what options Maya 2013 has for embedding/referencing media into FBX, and I'm also not sure how well the converter will preserve the relationships, even if the options within Maya are suitable.  I wouldn't worry about it, though.  With SL's limit of only 8 materials per model, it's not like it's time consuming to just upload the textures separately, and then apply them in-world after the fact.  You may find that you even prefer it that way, since it can make it a little easier to keep organized.

• Like 2

Very interesting! Thanks a lot for the replies.