Opinions needed! Maze research on Second Life

simonaj

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4566 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I hope I'm posting this to the right forum^^

I'm a fourth year university student taking a media productions class where we do research on Second Life. My partner and I are doing a project where we will research game play in Second Life and we'll create a maze to reflect our findings on immersion and interactivity.

We're looking for people who have created mazes or have played in mazes in Second Life to answer some questions for us and help us with the design of our maze. If anyone has time, please send me an IM or message on Second Life (username simonaj) and I will send you the Information & Consent form and questions. 

Thank you!

while I haven't built any mazes personally, I've run through quite a few, and noticed that most of the problems in them are similar to RL positioning and planning... or pathing.

the best builds always take pathing into account, and a large part of that is ease of navigation... clear lines of sight within the immediate bounds (that doesn't mean seeing the whole thing, just the ability to easily pick out the environments boundaries), ease of camera manipulation (mostly no transparent obstructions, nor spaces so tight that they force camera movement). these are things that will frustrate and turn off most casual users. users should be able to navigate using at a minimum either first or third person views, and depending on the context, adding ease of navigation for camera only is a great boon (which is why many popular shops use open central layouts)