How did you figure out what you wanted to be in SL?

RorickVolsung

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3797 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm very new to second life, but I have found my way around a bit.

So far, I've found some really awesome freebies, a lot of cool prizes for diffrent games, and I even took my first trip into Linden Reals and made $32. I have a pretty large inventory for someone that has only been playing for three days.

So, now comes the question:

I don't know who I want to be, or what I want to be. I know I want to be some form of human male, but I honestly can't think of what style I would wear if given everything as a possibility.

How did you guys figure out who you were meant to be in second life?

Trial and error, mostly. There are so many freebies, demos, and options for creating by oneself that I tried all kinds of avatars and looks. Eventually I settled on a few base looks (one shape, a handful of favourite skins and hairstyles) around which I create different variations. Sometimes it's just clothing that changes, sometimes I'm more (or less) human. Occasionally I wear a completely different av (furry, animal, alien or petite), but I consider those more like costumes than changes to 'me'.

The fun of it is you don't ever have to stop changing what you want to be.

Welcome to Second Life, Rorick.

When I first joined Second Life, I automatically created an avatar that was a human version of what I thought I wanted to be in real life, and things just fell into place. As time went on though, I found it was rather fun to have a few other avatars - alternative accounts - to explore being male, and of other species.  Of course you can do this in one account; be a shape-shifter.

As this avatar, I've sometimes been a cupcake, or a cloud, or a cockatiel, or a cat (its just a coincidence most of the avs I have tried out begin with a "c" !).