Alpha, Mesh, Appliers, Deformers...Wait, What??

Scout Pevensey

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3208 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Alternate Subject: Teaching an old dog new tricks...

I have been away from SL for quite some time and have slowly been starting to play again.  And the concept of the mesh avatar is kind of daunting.  I'm getting outfits that contain 5 different sizes and I'm not quite sure how to wear them and the thought of changing my body and appearance to fit one (of five) one size fits all types and then does that mean everything in my inventory is crap and I have to get rid of everything and AHHHHHH, OMG, my head's going to explode.  

Are there any great tutorials out there (in layman's terms, I'm not a designer and don't speak the lingo) or advice on where to start in order to convert my avatar over to the seemingly more popular mesh avatar?  "Dress up" (to borrow a term from my niece) is one of my favorite aspects of SL.

Thanks!

First off, a mesh AVATAR and mesh CLOTHING are not the same thing. 

An alpha layer makes part of your avatar invisible. This keeps body parts from sticking through mesh clothing. Same concept as the old invisiprims (that invisible halo that sometimes surrounded older shoes, etc.), much better execution. 

Here is a free set of standard sized shapes for both men and women. These shapes are intended as a base, so you can edit them to suit you as long as you don't edit the standard sizing relevant sliders. You don't have to buy the package, though: If your shape is modifiable, you can simply use the values provided in the product description to get a standard sizing compatible shape. You may find, like I did, that your regular shape is already fairly close to one of those sizes.