Wish List

YT Upsilon

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4669 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am not a progammer, I'm a dabbler (a dangerous thing to be).  But every so often I "wish" I could add some functionality to SL.  I couldn't find a suggestions thread, so I started this as a place where I could add those "wishes".  I'm a relative newbie, and I realise it might be possible to get my wish with the current tech, and it's just that I don't know how. Please let me know if that's the case.

Today I came up with two wishes.

I ended up wishing I could set my status to "Busy" but still IM in group chat.  I'm doing more and more in SL, and I run a group for English learners.  The problem is not all my contacts are in that group, and so I get IMs all the time, which can be distracting when you are discussin the finer points of bike vocabulary.  But, if I set myself to "busy" I can't use IM.  Now it would be nice, if it switched of general IM, but kept group IM working.  

The other thing I ended up wishing for was the ability to organise my contacts - Friends List - into different folders, in the same way I do my inventory.  I now know (thanks to Gwen) that you can organise calling cards (didn't even know about them) but I would like to do the same in the Friends list, so I know who are native speakers, who are teachers, who did I meet at that in-world conference etc.