Help with improving performance on SL.

Fearo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3004 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello, I've just got a simple question about how to improve performance in SL. As in speed, I know that I've got a pretty low-end computer (laptop) as I don't expect the best quality out there. Yes, I have browsed around google to find the answer to my question, and naturally a lot of people have asked the same question here on the forums. The answers are just a bit too technical for me. I'm not too tech savvy, but I do know most of the basics. but a dumbed down answer would be appreciated. LOL. i just want to improve my performance, I'm so tired of jumps and low response times it feels so laggy 24/7!

Here are my graphics card specs; http://prntscr.com/9mkdmo

And my system info; http://prntscr.com/9mkewf

thanks for reading! :cathappy:

EDIT: Also I just thought I should add; yes I've went into graphics setting on my viewer (firestorm) and adjusted the settings to low. Have also fiddled around manually in those settings as well to further lower graphics. Just in case anyone thought I hadn't already done so! 

EDIT: I did a speed test, it was suggested by a lot of others. I did my speed test from my current location to San Fracisco as it was suggested. Here are the results; http://prntscr.com/9mlclq 
Are those results bad?

So your speed is fine, and your system isn't terrible...except in one area. Your RAM. Second Life viewers can regularly take up 1.5 - 2 GB of ram. In a system with only 4 GB of RAm you will run out fast and it will start swapping memory to disk. Especially if you switch away from SL to other applications, like web browsers. My biggest suggestion would be to close out of all progrms when using Sl and not swap away unless you really have to. Make sure you are using the latest version of FS as I know the plugged some memory leaks.