Graphical glitch with Radeon R9 380 Video Card (Solution, not a problem)

Daniela Wetherby

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3061 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi guys, hopefully this is correct section for this, this is my first time utilizing Second Life's forums. So, to start off my topic, I just had upgraded to a brand new  AMD GPU (mere days ago). A Sapphire Radeon Nitro R9 380, up from an old Nvidia 750 Ti. 

Now, previously with my NVidia card, I had never encountered this  graphical error (imgur link to example) before. I'm not sure whether or not to call it "artefacting" or "pixelation", but it shows up in that one static position at all times. Originally, I had thought it was just un-updated drivers (I only got this card around a week ago), but updating to the latest drivers still didn't fix it.

Googling hadn't provided much in the way of a solution, and I had kind of washed my hands with it. However, I decided to fiddle with my graphics settings to try and take prettier snapshots, and lo and behold, I found a solution. 

Under the "General" tab of Graphics, disable Bump mapping and shiny and that got rid of the artefacting and returned it to normal, thankfully. http://i.imgur.com/VcuS8gu.jpg This being an after snapshot with it disabled. I'm not sure if I wrote this out correctly but, I'm hoping it'll help someone with the same issue.

For posterity:

My setup

Mobo: Gigabyte Tech 990FXA-UD3

CPU: AMD FX-8350

GPU:  Sapphire Radeon Nitro R9 380

Viewer: Firestorm 64 4.7.5f os (I also replicated the graphical error using Black Dragon Viewer)

Welcome to the wonderful world of frecked up AMD drivers and of automatically "updated" Windows 10 "universal" hardware drivers

Expect such problems every now and then with new driver versions, the fact that Microsoft messes the already buggy AMD drives up for Win 10 additionally will make things even much worse.