Please help me understand frame rates versus your equipment

Steve Mahfouz

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2953 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all. I've been playing SL for almost 11 years now. My frame rates per second in crowded sims have steadily been getting better but I remain perplexed.

I just upgraded my gear to a high-end i7 Intel processor, 32 gigs of RAM, a very high-end Nvidia card, and a PCI-E hard drive. I'm not willing to get into overclocking, so that's ruled out. My ISP is 50 megabits per second download.

I'm still only pulling 6 frames a second in a very crowded club. I'm not going to name the club, because that feels like "calling out" to me. Granted, I have all the " eye candy " turned on. I understand, of course, that I can get higher frame rates by going to lower settings. I know that avatars, scripts, and very large textures, among other factors, influence frame rate. 

Is my experience in line with others ? As I said, I'm not willing to get into overclocking. Thank you for your time and patience.

Steve

on edit: I just did an experiment. I put my Firestorm viewer on Ultra, with Shadow Quality cranked up to 4.0, Scale of Terrain Texture Rendering up to 24, Anti-Aliasing up to 16X, Anisotropic Filtering enabled, and Lossy Texture Compression disabled. I went home to my very low lag sim, in my Linden home. So, these are more or less ideal conditions. My FPS topped out around 61 FPS with all the ultra-ish settings on. So, 61 fps is my more or less theoretical max right now.

Maybe! 6 FPS is probably typical for a "very crowded club" with "eye candy" on.

I'm on a 4Gb Nvidia 970 and rarely sink this low, though maybe 10-15FPS. I'm pretty good at muting folks who are lagbutts and I don't really go to busy clubs. It's been a while since I've done any performance testing, but I don't really experience what other folks refer to as "lag" even from the UK.