is there work for a clothing modeler in SL?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3170 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Heyas

I'm just starting to look into mesh for Second. I've been making Poser clothing for mmm more than 12 years now.  Are there any shops hiring 3d modelers or commissioning work ? 

I also do uvmapping, texturing and all that. I just havent messed about with setting the bones and exporting to .dae format for SL yet. 

I'm not interested in running or managing a store and dealing with customers. I just want to make things.  Would I be better off finding a store manager to deal with all that and just go ahead and start a small store?

thanks for any info,

Tiger

I can sympathize with your desire to avoid customers.  Just making stuff is a lot more fun.  You can certainly find a partner somewhere who would be interested in handling the retail side of the business.  Just put a note (or several notes) in the InWorld Employment forum and stand back.  A disturbing amount of the mesh clothing that's in shops today is being sold by people who are making it from kits, without a clue about how it's actually designed.  The result is a lot of ill-fitting, vertex-heavy clothing with mismatched alpha layers. I'm sure an enterprising shop owner would rather sell higher-qualilty items if you were to make them.

The problem that you will face is that mesh clothing is now priced low enough that it's hard to get paid enough to justify your time -- especially if you have to split the profits with a partner. In order to make any money, you may need to open your own shop anyway.  Fortunately, that's a rather painless thing to do, especially if you sell entirely through Marketplace instead of maintaining a shop in world.