is there a catch to mesh?

MoiselleErin Teardrop

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2695 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am just learning how to do it (using blender)and recently built a stair case railing. Seems like a sweet deal, one prim instead of 8 (at least in my case) It is just one texture, material, and color so no problem there...

Aside a couple minor buillding errors like rotation angles and alignments (both my fault), iit seems to work fine.

So anyways, what is the trade-off with using mesh that may not be evident to beginners?

It is kind of like when you think you are getting a good deal on a used car or old house but then a week later something goes wrong that you could not have foreseen. having a nice object of oone primm instead of several just seems too good to be true.

There is a downside to every form of building. That's why I sometimes "mix and match" the tools we have. At times a prim will be best, at times a sculpt (tho I use those less and less) and sometimes mesh is the best option. No need to stick to just meshes. 

There are a few catches to mesh. First of all, LOD building is important when you use mesh, best is to build your own LOD's. This will prevent the collapsing of your object at a distance. Playing with the LOD's can make a big difference in the LI. It can also ruin it, especially for ppl that have set their LOD to a low number. 

Mesh needs physics to make it possible to for example walk through a doorway or on a floor. To prevent walking through walls etc. Again, there are a few options here, build them yourself or let the uploader do it for you. Sometimes building them yourself is better and sometimes, once you figure out the uploader settings, that is the way to go.