What are the things you should know when creating a complete avatar or a cloth?

xhyps

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4344 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi. I am new in SL and been doing some practice in 3d using Blender 2.63, I would like to ask if you could help me answer the following:

1. What are the basic things you should know when you want to know how to create a complete avatar or a clothing?

2. Does "retopology" is a critical thing to be learned and what does it do? (I have gone over different tutorials/articles about this topic, claiming it is for beginners but never told why they should be learned and how do they work :-( ).

3.  Does learning Scripting is required in creating a complete avatar?

4. Does animation is essential in creating an avatar?

Thanks fellas.

There is so much to know I have no idea where to start...

I have a tutorial for setting up blender for mesh clothes making: Second Life Mesh Clothes Blender 2.6 Setup 2012 Tutorial

I have two short articles on retopology and they link to a good video tutorial: #SL Blender Clothes Retopology & Blender Retopology – Clothing Update.

And there is a recent warning of a problem with 2.63: Blender 2.63 Import Problem.

If you use the menu on my blog to open the Mesh Related or Clothing Tutorials sections you'll find more.

When working with clothing, you don't have to learn to script. If you want to make things no-mod you may need scripts to change color, size, and textures. There are public scripts you can use for that.

Animation is not necessary for making clothes or avatars. But, a related part, weight painting, is needed.

Nalates Urriah wrote:

And there is a recent warning of a problem with 2.63: 

For completeness: It is not a "Blender Import problem" but an "SL Importer problem". The SL importer takes its name information from the wrong place. The issue has been mentioned first here in this forum: