Texturing Meshes?

SpookyHollows

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3172 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello! Hope I'm putting this in the right place. 
Anyways, I've been making some simple meshes in Blender, my first mesh came out okay, but I had to put a texture on it in SL. But now I made a chair model, it has a cushion on it too, so I want 2 different kinds of textures, one for the chair, and one for the cushion. How would I be able to do that in SL? I heard something about UV Mapping...? But how do I do that? How does UV Mapping work? Does it make the meshes textures show up correctly in SL? I'm a newb at these sort of things. 
I've watched many tutorials, but it's hard to keep track of it. x.x any help is greatly appreciated! 

Small edit: I use Blender 2.73

Hi, i 've read ur post and i think i can share my knowledge. In Blender you must first use UV Unwrap method. How to do that there is allot of tutorials available in youtube. The second step is to corectly bake the texture ur applying to mesh. I do that by using cycles render, to enable also shadow effect on the objects. There is specific settings to do that in blender. Once the mesh is baked (with cycles render) u must than save the baked texture and the mesh model at the same time- only this will help to apply texture on mesh correctly). Do not forget to use blender settings when you export to collada the model. Upload texture and model seperately to SL and then use it. That way always works with me. If u need more help IM me inworld. Im giving you some example i recently did with Blender.

https://marketplace.secondlife.com/stores/170256