So I created a 3D character from scratch. Now what?!

britnibritt

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3188 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Sorry I am a complete noob but I was wondering what to do after I created a 3d character from scratch (3D program).

I am a 3D artist so I don't need help with any of the art side, I'm just trying to understand SL in general I guess. I've seen a lot of the how-to's but I still don't understand what they're talking about.

I understand after I model the character I have to rig it and paint weights if necessary? Then what? You need a special SL to upload meshes? What about the physic animations? Are they lost? Feel free to explain or give me more detailed how-to links. I haven't seen any simple enough to explain the process.

Thanks in advance!

First of all it would be very helpful if you could post what kind of software you are using.

britnibritt wrote:

I've seen a lot of the how-to's but I still don't understand what they're talking about.

What don't you understand before we all repeat exactly what you don't understand?

You need a special SL to upload meshes?

As far as I know you can upload in any viewer. You need to export your model as DAE file, then in SL you can upload a "model" in the "build" menu. This will open the import screen.

What about the physic animations? Are they lost?

If you rig to the skeleton bones, the physics will be lost. If you rig to the collision bones they will remain. So you'll need an SL skeleton with those included in your 3D program.

Thank you for those tid bits. Okay here is more questions of what Im trying to figure out :)

I'm not sure why the 3D programs I'm using matter because I need understanding on what to do afterwards. But Im using Maya and Zbrush. Where can I find the collision skeleton at? This includes looking around and smiling?