Slight problem

Phil Deakins

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2999 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

If you've seen my recent posts here, you'll know that I am a complete noob as far as mesh is concerned. I've been using Gaia's tutorials and I'm making (slow) progress. But I've come to an impasse.

I'm trying to make a quarter cylinder but I'm using Blender 2.76 - downloaded a few days ago. When Gaia uses a cyclinder in the Coffee Cup tutorials, she uses an older version of Blender and the cylinder ends each had a central vertex with edges to all the outer vertices. But 2.76 doesn't do that. The cyclinder ends are closed, with no vertices in them at all.

I can remove the faces and edges around 3/4 of the cylinder, and I'm left with the quarter curve that I want, BUT I'm also left with no sides to the quarter cylinder, and without the central vertex, I don't know how to get them. I tried triangulating a new cylinder to see of that put a vertex in the centre of the ends, but the ends are sliced up without a centre vertex.

I'd very much appreciate it if someone could tell me either how to add a vertex where I need it to be, or how to remove 3/4 of the faces around the cylinder but keep the 1/4 sides. Or any other way of making a quarter cylinder with sides shape. Starting with a cylinder is ideal though, because it smooths beautifully to a curve.

Phil as soon as you add a cylindar, look down at the bottom left corner, at the bottom of the Tools shelf, and change Ngon to Fan:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/25rnfyxfx2wwnyg/Screenshot%202016-01-27%2009.06.17.png?dl=0

Oh, if you hit 1 to align your view straight on, then click Align to View in that same shelf area. 

To make the missing sides, select the top edge and the bottom edge and press the F key.